Heartfelt Thanks

to Our Sponsors, Donors and Volunteers –

The Main Event 2018: Home of the Biggest Heart on Earth!

SHGala Post-Event Ad 417a edited web2

Special thanks to our Presenting Sponsor:

Sutter Health / Mills-Peninsula Medical Center

and our Ferris Wheel and Midway Sponsors:

Bank of America / Merrill Lynch

Carole Middleton

Gilead Science

Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy, LLP

Peninsula Health Care District



Thank You to the 2018 Honorary Host Committee

  • Georgia Antonopoulos
    Executive Director, Thrive Alliance of Nonprofits
  • Leslie Bacho
    Chief Executive Officer, Second Harvest Food Bank
  • Ian Bain
    Mayor, City of Redwood City
  • Marc Berman
    State Assembly, District 24
  • Caroll Broadfoot, Jr.
    Pastor, Trinity Baptist Church
  • Emmett Carson, Ph.D.
    Chief Executive Officer, Silicon Valley Community Foundation
  • Marie Chuang
    Mayor, Town of Hillsborough
  • Sara Cowey
    Leadership Teacher, San Mateo High School
  • William and Tammy Crown
  • Anna C. Eshoo
    United States House of Representatives, District 18
  • Marina Fess and Vida Wadhams
    Community Service Commissioners, San Mateo High School
  • First Presbyterian Church San Mateo
  • Ilya Frangos
    San Mateo County Trial Lawyers Association
  • Robert Freiri
    Executive Director, Housing Industry Foundation
  • Bill Graham
    President, Dignity Health Sequoia Hospital
  • Robert Grassilli, Jr.
    Mayor, City of San Carlos
  • Carole Groom
    Supervisor, County of San Mateo
  • Kamala D. Harris
    Unites States Senate
  • Sam Hindi
    Mayor, City of Foster City
  • Tom Huening and Carol Perusse
  • Jennifer Kirschenbaum
    Executive Director, Chronicle Season of Sharing Fund
  • Pamela Kurtzman
    Chief Executive Officer, Sequoia Healthcare District
  • Susan Manheimer
    Chief of Police, City of San Mateo
  • Kevin Mullin
    State Assembly, District 22
  • Richard Newton
    Vice President, Ronald and Ann Williams Charitable Foundation
  • Penny Nixon
    Senior Minister, Congregational Church of San Mateo
  • Liza Normandy
    Mayor, City of South San Francisco
  • Kathleen Piraino
    Executive Director, Episcopal Impact Fund
  • Dan Severson
    Senior Pastor, Hope Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Yvonne Shiu
    Principal, San Mateo High School
  • Thomas Skillings
    Rector, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church of Burlingame
  • John A. Sobrato
    Chairman, Sobrato Organization
  • Jackie Speier
    United States House of Representatives, District 14
  • Janet Wagner
    Chief Executive Officer, Sutter Health/Mills-Peninsula Medical Center
  • Jim and Lia Whitehead
  • Rick Williams
    Chief Executive Officer, Sobrato Family Foundation

Master of Ceremonies – Frank Somerville

Event Chair – Jason Ting

Event Committee – Cathy Aydelott, Mary Burns, Mary Dunbar, Babs Harband, Cheryl Halcovich, Noemy Mena-Miles, Jessica Mitchell, Lisa Wheeler

With Assistance From – Liza Batallones, Laura Bent, Bart Charlow, Rosie Coleridge, Tiffany Hayes, Connie Gershaneck, Karen Malekos-Smith,  Jason Wong